Ah Marjory, my little pet nickname for Google.  It is still my favorite search engine although as I have blogged in the past it is starting to lose that standing.  However today the good article I read was about the Google business model.  Anybody around me will quickly note that I will say Google is Evil.

Why is this?

Well when it comes right down to it, it is the fact that what Google really does is gather information about you and sell it.  Realistically this isn’t that much different from likely several dozen other companies out there, but what truly separates Google from the pack is that they are good at it to a level that is down right scary.  From the way that Chrome stores all of the settings on the web to the google+ you must register as your campaign.  As consumers we think it is great that we are getting all of this great stuff for free, however there is an old Japanese saying; “Things that are free, cost the most”.

There is a great little summation Blog today that nicely sums all of this up.

http://gigaom.com/2011/09/05/don-norman-google-doesnt-get-people-it-sells-them/

And where Marjory comes from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fraggle_Rock

